Introducing the Sector Advisory Committee 

Post by Helena Prins, project manager for the Sector Advisory Committee, BCcampus 

On February 22, 2024, the Sector Advisory Committee (SAC) convened its inaugural meeting. The SAC’s primary objective is to support the Professional Development for Educators Initiative, as part of the implementation of the British Columbia Post-Secondary Digital Learning Strategy.  

The SAC is a diverse group of experts in educator professional development from across B.C. It will collaborate with BCcampus to conduct an environmental scan and gap analysis of professional development offerings relevant to the Digital Learning Strategy. The SAC will also review new components of the Professional Instructor Diploma Program (PIDP) related to the Digital Learning Strategy.  

This work aligns with BCcampus’ mandate to drive innovation in teaching, learning, and open education through projects, professional development, and open resources, in collaboration with the Ministry of Post-Secondary Education and Future Skills and system partners.  

We are looking forward to working collaboratively with the SAC in the coming months. If you have any questions about the SAC, please reach out via email.  

SAC Members: 

  • Arielle Andrews, director, Policy and Engagement, Digital Policy and Transformation Branch, Ministry of Post-Secondary Education and Future Skills  
  • Michael Conlon, executive director, Federation of Post-Secondary Educators 
  • Valeria Cortes, associate faculty, Royal Roads University 
  • Marlene Erickson, executive director, Aboriginal Education, First Nations Education Steering Committee, College of New Caledonia 
  • Annabree Fairweather, executive director, Confederation of University Faculty Associations of BC  
  • Taruna Goel, competence development and assessment practice lead (North Pacific Training & Performance), sessional instructor (University of Victoria), FLO facilitator (BCcampus)  
  • Lucy Griffiths, dean of trades, Vancouver Community College  
  • Jaime Grismer, instructional technologist, Nicola Valley Institute of Technology  
  • Fizza Haider, learning designer, accessibility FLO facilitator, University of the Fraser Valley  
  • Chris Hillary, faculty, School of Nursing, educational developer, micro-credentials and special projects, Selkirk College  
  • Cheri MacLeod, representative of the Instructional Skills Workshop (ISW) Network, and instructional development consultant, Learning and Teaching Centre, British Columbia Institute of Technology 
  • Melanie Meyers, program director, Justice Institute of British Columbia, and chair of British Columbia Teaching & Learning Council 
  • Tannis Morgan, associate vice president, Academic Innovation, Vancouver Community College 
  • Derek Murray, education developer, Camosun College   
  • Adam Nash, learning transformation specialist, Coast Mountain College  
  • Helena Prins, project manager, BCcampus 
  • Tracy Roberts, director, Learning + Teaching, BCcampus 
  • Leanne Waddington, associate vice president, Teaching & Learning, Kwantlen Polytechnic University 
  • Junsong Zhang, program manager, Simulations, Justice Institute of British Columbia  

Consultants on the PIDP working group:  

  • Karen Brooke, instructor, School of Instructor Education, Vancouver Community College 
  • David Kirk, dean, Curriculum and Pedagogy, Vancouver Community College