Four new institutions join WriteAway e-tutoring service

Drumroll please: four new institutions will be joining WriteAway in the fall of 2014! A warm welcome to: British Columbia Institute of Technology, Emily Carr University of Art + Design, Justice Institute of British Columbia, and Selkirk College. These institutions join our six current participants: Camosun College, College of the Rockies, Douglas College, Kwantlen Polytechnic University, Simon Fraser University, and the University of British Columbia.


We are thrilled that WriteAway is growing and that online writing support will be extending even further throughout the province. The opportunity to join this growing collaborative remains open. If you have questions or your institution would like to join WriteAway, please contact Leah Hopton at

With goals to reduce barriers for institutions who wish to join and to expand the number of students reached, the BC eTutoring Concept Committee made several decisions this spring to restructure the service as it moves forward. Highlights include:

  • The hiring of a part-time Master Tutor to support tutors, thus reducing workloads for institutional coordinators
  • A reduction in the minimum number of tutoring hours required by each institution, down from 120 hours per 12-week term to 60 hours per term
  • Training emphasis for tutors on providing helpful, quality feedback to student draft submissions more quickly than in previous terms

Thanks to the hard work of the WriteAway Advisory Committee and the Training Working Group over the summer, changes should roll out smoothly this fall.

This post is reprinted with permission from the Electronic Learning Network newsletter.