BCcampus Award for Excellence in Open Education: Andrea Niosi

This month’s BCcampus Award for Excellence in Open Education goes to Instructor Andrea Niosi, Faculty of Entrepreneurial Leadership, Kwantlen Polytechnic University (KPU). Andrea has become a leader in open education at KPU and beyond. She gives presentations about open pedagogy, has participated in local and international fellowship opportunities, mentors others in open education and open pedagogy, advises on the development of zero-textbook-cost programs in marketing and entrepreneurial leadership at KPU, and has authored multiple open education resources.

Nominated by Melissa Ashman, Instructor, Applied Communications, KPU School of Business

Andrea Niosi smiling

Andrea participated in KPU’s SDG Open Pedagogy Fellowship in 2020, where she collaborated with faculty from Montgomery College and Maricopa Community College to create three renewable assignments. These assignments allow students to reimagine marketing by creating new narratives that accurately reflect the diversity and complexity of consumers past and present.

She supported 34 fourth-year marketing students in creating an open education resource (OER) called the Open Guide to IMC (integrated marketing communications). Students curated open content, created original content, developed H5P content, and paid close attention to approaching the guide through an antiracism lens.

In addition, Andrea was a mentor in the UNESCO Open Education for a Better World program, gave workshops on open pedagogy, and presented to faculty at Nelson Mandela University in South Africa. She presented at the Open Education 2020 Conference with two KPU students on developing the Open Guide to IMC. She is an active member of the BCcampus Business ZTC Advisory Group and a curriculum developer for the Entrepreneurial Leadership Program at KPU.

Also See:

Previous Honourees: 

Jennifer KirkeyRajiv JhangianiCindy UnderhillMichael PaskeviciusMaja KrzicGrant PotterIrwin DeVriesTara RobertsonChristina HendricksTannis MorganInba KehoeDiane PurveyErin Fields, Arley CruthersChad FlinnAran ArmutluTerry BergWill EngleFlorence DaddeyBrenda SmithLindsay TrippMary ShierBrad BellDebra FlewellingMichelle HarrisonSally VindenAli de HaanSara Humphreys, and Jim Maxwell-Campagna

The feature image for this post (viewable in the BCcampus News section at the bottom of our homepage) is by Jamie Street on Unsplash